صيانة المجمّع الثقافي والحفاظ عليه

ظل المجمّع الثقافي طيلة عقود من الزمن رمزاً تاريخياً ومعمارياً وثقافياً ووطنياً.

صُمم المجمّع الثقافي ليعكس تفاعل الماضي والحاضر والمستقبل في مزج بين الثقافة والتقاليد والحداثة؛ ولذا نجد فن العمارة في البناء يتسع ليجمع بين الفن التقليدي والمعاصر إلى جانب العناصر المتداخلة التي ترمز إلى الدوام والبقاء.

تكمن أهمية المجمّع الثقافي كأحد معالم ذاكرة أبوظبي الجماعية وبوابة حقيقية للمدينة وللتوسع الثقافي المتواصل للدولة، ولذا تبقى الحاجة للصيانة المستمرة لذلك المبنى عنصراً مهماً في تطور المدينة ونموها.

Banner

وانطلاقاً من هذا المبدأ، كان المجمّع الثقافي من بين أول المواقع التي أدرِجت ضمن موقع التراثي المعماري الحيث لمدينة أبوظبي. وكانت الخطوة اللاحقة هي المضي قدماً باتجاه صيانة الموقع كجزء من مشروع صيانة قصر الحصن، حيث استشعرت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الحاجة إلى الحفاظ على التراث الحديث الذي سيقف يوماً ما شاهداً على عظمة الماضي، وسترى الأجيال القادمة الإسهامات التي نقدمها في العصر الحالي.

أما فيما يتعلق بالتحديات التي تواجه جهود صيانة التراث المعاصر، فهناك مسألة ضمان الحفاظ على المبنى في حالة عمل كاملة مع الإبقاء على سماته الفريدة. ويرتبط تصميم المجمّع الثقافي ارتباطاً مباشراً بوظيفته الأساسية وتصميم البرامج والرؤى، لذا فإننا بحاجة إلى دراسة متأنية متعمقة عند إجراء أي تدخل.

وكان من الضروري، كما هو الحال مع مثل هذا النوع من المباني، أن يكون هناك فهم شامل لأهمية موارد الموقع فيما يتعلق ببعض الجوانب كالأهمية التاريخية والتأثير الاجتماعي والدلالة السياسية والقيمة المعمارية والاقتصادية.

كانت النهج الذي اعتمد مكون من شقين؛ فبالإضافة إلى البحث عن قيمة ومكانة هذه الأشياء في الأرشيف، كانت هناك تقارير ولقاءات، كما كانت هناك حاجة إلى تشخيص كامل وتقييم وجود أي مشكلات فنية كحالات التلف المادي ومدى تأثير التطور الحالي والمستقبلي.

وُضعت خطة إدارة صيانة المجمّع الثقافي وفق نهج تشاركي ضم كلاً من ممثلي المجتمع ومتخصصي التراث معاً للوصول إلى فهم مشترك وتقديرٍ للقيمة التراثية للموقع. وأسهمت هذه الخطوات في تحديد معالم السياسة الشاملة لصيانة الموقع، كما حددت كذلك السياسيات الإرشادية لعملية الصيانة إلى جانب انتقاء طرق محددة للتنفيذ.

وخلال عملية ترميم المجمّع الثقافي، كان العاملون على أقصى درجات الحيطة والحذر للحفاظ على البنية المعمارية للمجمع مع الاهتمام بالتصميم المعماري الذي شمل استعادة العناصر المفقودة، مثل نوافير الأفنية الأصلية للمبنى.

وُضعت الأهمية المجتمعية لموقع المجمّع في الاعتبار لضمان استعادة وظيفته الأصلية في عمليات الترميم، بينما أدخلت بعض التحسينات الوظيفية في إطار عملية التوسع الثقافي المستمرة في أبوظبي.

وشملت تلك التحسينات بناء درج جديد وسطح كمساحة إضافية وإعادة هيكلة بعض الأجزاء الأخرى لإيجاد ورش عمل إضافية ومساحات للمعارض. وكان هناك حذر شديد لضمان دقة وحساسية عمليات التطوير للتصميم المعماري الأصلي للمبنى.

وتزامناً مع عمليات صيانة قصر الحصن المجاور، بدأت عمليات ترميم المجمّع الثقافي تماشياً مع خطط أبوظبي للتطوير الشامل، ومن بينها الصيانة الدقيقة للمواقع الثقافية وإحياء المعالم التراثية للمدينة والحفاظ عليها في حالة عمل دائم ليستمتع بها الجميع. وكانت عملية صيانة المجمّع الثقافي عنصراً أساسياً في عملية الصيانة الشاملة لموقع قصر الحصن، حيث كشفت عن تطور مدينة أبوظبي منذ الماضي وإلى يومنا في كتلة معمارية واحدة.

CONSERVATION OF THE CULTURAL FOUNDATION

For the Cultural Foundation has continued to stand as an enduring, historic, architectural and cultural national symbol.

Designed to mirror the interaction of the past, the present and the future, blending culture and tradition with modernity, the architecture of the building lends itself to both traditional and contemporary art with overlapping elements that hint of timelessness.

With its importance as a landmark in Abu Dhabi’s collective memory and an almost tangible “key” to the city’s and the nation’s continued cultural growth, the need for the ongoing conservation of the Foundation’s specially designed building continues to be a valuable element in the city’s development.

Banner

Stemming from this, the Cultural Foundation was among the first sites to be registered as a modern heritage site on the emirate of Abu Dhabi’s Historic Environment Record. It was inevitable for the next step to be a move towards the conservation of the site as part of the Qasr Al Hosn conservation project, as the United Arab Emirates gradually sensed the need to conserve the heritage of modernity - which will one day stand as a monument to the past as future generations look back to the contributions of our present time.

One of the challenges facing conservation efforts for modern heritage is to ensure a building remains functional while staying true to its unique character. As the Cultural Foundation’s design is directly linked to its original function, programme design and vision, any intervention needed careful study and consideration.

It was necessary, as with similar types of structures, to gain a thorough understanding of the value of the site’s resources in terms of aspects such as historic value, social impact, political significance, architectural value and economic factors.

A two-pronged approach was taken. Aside from research of such values through archives, available reports and interviews, there also needed to be a full diagnosis, assessing any technical issues such as physical deterioration; and the impact of current and future development.

The Cultural Foundation Conservation Management Plan was compiled, using a participative approach which involved both the community and heritage specialists, engaging both to come to a shared understanding and appreciation of the heritage value of the site. These steps helped define an overall conservation strategy for the site, outlining the guiding conservation policies as well as the selection of specific implementation methods.

In carrying out renovations to the Cultural Foundation, utmost care was taken to preserve the architectural fabric, paying attention to the architectural design, which included restoring lost elements such as the building’s original courtyard fountains.

The communal values held by the site were taken into account, to ensure its original functions were retained in the renovations – while a number of functional enhancements were introduced in response to Abu Dhabi’s continued cultural expansion.

Enhancements included a new staircase, the implementation of the rooftop as an additional space, and the repurposing of a number of areas to create additional workshop and exhibition spaces. Care was taken to ensure the enhancements were sensitive to the building’s original architectural design.

Along with the conservation of nearby Qasr Al Hosn, the renovations to the Cultural Foundation are in line with Abu Dhabi’s overall development plans, one of which is the careful conservation of cultural sites, breathing new life into the city’s heritage landmarks and keeping them fully functional for all to enjoy. The conservation of the Cultural Foundation was a fundamental element in the overall conservation of the Al Hosn site, revealing the development of Abu Dhabi from tradition to modernity within a single city block.